The Road Less Travelled

“Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both..”
-Robert Frost
That’s right. Choices. You can’t take one option without losing the other. And no, I’m not going to tell you what to choose or to choose at all.
A very interesting question asked at my school which stuck with me was, ” Does make make his destiny or does destiny make a man?”
Some said destiny made a man.
Some held favour with the other opinion.
Many diplomats argued that it was a combination of both.

I could be a diplomat here and write in favour of both but if I do that, I might as well keep that opinion to myself as it shall serve no purpose here.
I firmly believe that destiny makes a man.
Now you’d be tempted to argue: ‘But hey, there are some things beyond a person’s control.’. You’re right, of course. It’s how you react to them, how you evaluate and act on what life throws at you shapes your fate.
All I’m asking you is to take control. Take charge. It won’t be easy. But don’t be a sheep and follow the herd. Submission is an illusion that is all in the mind.
And here it is: you can either try to please all by following the conventions and rules laid out by others or you could take the road less travelled by.
Both options pose their own risks.
By choosing the former you shall risk loosing your identity.
The latter option shall put your social standing at risk.
My advice? Haha, nope. Only you can decide how much you can handle.
All I can say is that I stand with Robert Frost on this point,
“Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—
I took the one less travelled by,
And that has made all the difference.”
The choice is yours and the clock is ticking…
-Yogya
Leave a Reply

